West Coast Boardroom Summit & Peer Exchange

AGENDA

Wednesday, November 17

11:00 AM ET – 2:00 PM Eastern (8:00 AM – 11:00 AM Pacific)

Board Committee Peer Exchange

Corporate Board Member’s Board Committee Peer Exchange provides an exclusive setting for directors and general counsel to share insights and solutions with their peers while discussing critical governance challenges and opportunities facing their organizations. Participants are divided into peer groups based on their board position. Prior to the event, Corporate Board Member will solicit input from confirmed participants to develop the most relevant agenda for each committee session. All sessions are off-the-record, ensuring a setting for candid conversations.

Peer Exchanges are available for the following:

  • Audit Committee
  • Compensation Committee
  • Nominating/Governance Committee

2:00 – 2:30 pm Eastern (11:00 – 11:30 am Pacific)

Break

2:30 – 2:40 pm Eastern (11:30 – 11:40 am Pacific)

Boardroom Summit Kick-off

2:40 – 3:30 pm Eastern (11:40 am – 12:30 pm Pacific)

Rules of the World Post-Covid: A Look at the State of the Global Economy, and Where America Fits In

Jack Ablin, Chief Investment Officer, Cresset Capital Management; Author, Reading Minds and Markets: Minimizing Risk and Maximizing Returns in a Volatile Global Marketplace

Everything from how banks lend to how stocks are traded is heavily colored by where one lives and understanding the often unacknowledged rules of the game can prove critical to financial success. Our speaker will provide an overview of the global economy and share how paradigm shifts happening across the world will impact the oversight of business risks at your company. We’ll evaluate the interconnectivity of the global economy and what sort of surprises — both good and bad — are about to burst onto the stage.

3:30 – 4:15 pm Eastern (12:30 – 1:15 pm Pacific)

Unpacking Talent and Culture: Improving Oversight of Your Greatest Intangible Asset

  • Lloyd Johnson, Board Member, Apogee Enterprises, Beazer Homes Corp. and Haemonetics Corp.
  • Michele Vion, Board Member, ProPetro

There’s no doubt that every company’s culture was put to the test in the past 18 months. How do boards get a handle on corporate culture and employee engagement? How do you assess where the gaps are in your human capital management efforts and hold management accountable? We’ll help your board develop a more disciplined, deliberate approach to oversight of this critical issue.

4:15 – 4:30 pm Eastern (1:15 – 1:30 pm Pacific)

Break

4:30 – 5:15 pm Eastern (1:30 – 2:15 pm Pacific)

Digital Disruption Redefined: A Customer-Driven Approach to Transforming Your Company

Kenneth Spangler, Executive Vice President, IT, FedEx Global Opco Technologies: Express, Ground, Freight and Logistics

Pushed by COVID-19, the pace to digitally transform continues to accelerate beyond what has been seen before. Relatively overnight, companies across all industries had to quickly pivot and adopt digital technology to combat supply chain disruptions, solve problems, and work remotely. Business leaders are recognizing that digital capabilities are an imperative to stay competitive as both B2B and B2C customer interactions move online. Even with an accelerated pace of digital transformation, many companies still have a long way to go. Kicking off a digital transformation and overhauling legacy systems is no easy feat, but the time to transform is now! From strategy to execution, how do you measure a company’s progress in the digital transformation journey? We’ll help you ask the right questions to gauge the efficacy of and boost your digital transformation strategy and execution.

5:15 pm Eastern (2:15 pm Pacific)

Day 1 Ends

Thursday, November 18

11:00 – 11:10 am Eastern (8:00 – 8:10 am Pacific)

Day 2 Welcome

11:10 am - Noon Eastern (8:10- 9:00 am Pacific)

Leading Amid Disruption: Keys to Effective CEO-Board Relations

  • Michael Montelongo, Board Member, Civeo Corp, Conduent Inc, and Larry H. Miller Management Corp.
  • Teresa DeLuca, Board Member, Surgery Partners and 180 Life Sciences

Continuing high levels of uncertainty, potentially game-changing advances in technology, the adoption of non-traditional business models, as well as other external forces, such as changing demographics and geopolitical pressures, all require a strong than ever relationship between the Board and the CEO. The best CEO-board relationships consistently contribute to higher performance and superior results. This panel will dive into the essential elements of an effective CEO-board relationship to help CEOs and directors assess and improve their current performance in delivering against their responsibilities to ask the right questions, maintain the right attitude, and communicate and collaborate with each other more effectively.

Noon - 12:45 pm Eastern (9:00- 9:45 am Pacific)

Navigating Your ESG Journey: Investors' and Stakeholders' Expectations and Beyond

Deborah Peacock, Board Member, Westwater Resources, NM Gas Company and Emera Technologies and THEMAC Resources Group/New Mexico Copper Corp.

With growing expectations from investors, regulators, employees and customers, every company is on a unique ESG journey. From understanding what information investors want—and where they are getting that information from—to determining how to prioritize your ESG strategies to becoming a front leader in making bold ESG-related decisions, there are important questions that boards should be asking throughout each phase. Learn from a veteran director with board experience across all three phases to help you develop a framework for ESG oversight unique to your board’s journey.   

12:45 – 1:00 pm Eastern (9:45 – 10:00 am Pacific)

Break

1:00 – 2:00 pm Eastern (10:00 – 11:00 am Pacific)

Concurrent Topic Breakouts

Attendees will select one to participate in live

Mark Emanuel, Managing Director, Semler Brossy

How do you set goals for long-term transformation, short-term strategic agility, and the building of stakeholder ecosystems all at the same time? This session will discuss the essentials for creating outcome- and stakeholder-based incentive measures with specific goals that will support a company’s agile strategic changes during long-term transformation.

With so many CEOs making a quick exit in recent years, it’s more important than ever for your board to have a succession plan in place well before you need it. Some boards perform the CEO selection process brilliantly while some repeatedly make the same mistakes. Wherein lies the difference? This session will explore the tenets of a strong CEO succession process, including the current CEO’s role, evaluation of internal and external candidates, and the board’s ultimate responsibility.

2:00 – 2:15 pm Eastern (11:00 – 11:15 am Pacific)

Break

1:00 – 2:00 pm Eastern (10:00 – 11:00 am Pacific)

Concurrent Topic Breakouts

Attendees will select one to participate in live

Derek Zaba, Chair, Shareholder Activism Practice, Sidley

The increasingly sophisticated and complex manner in which activists target companies requires a cohesive strategy by a company’s management and its board long before an activist comes knocking. Have you tried challenging your own strategy before an activist does it for you? This session will walk through the key measures to most effectively prepare your board for the unexpected call from an investor.

Jim Hale, Board Member, Mitek, Marin Bank and ACI Worldwide

This session will help your board put cybersecurity in the greater business context to better identify risks, understand the gaps and create a stronger plan. You’ll leave with a list of action items and questions to ask your chief security and privacy officers to assess your current environment and ensure a holistic strategy that provides for proper board oversight.

3:15 - 3:25 pm Eastern (12:15 – 12:25 pm Pacific)

Break

3:25 – 4:15 pm Eastern (12:25 – 1:15 pm Pacific)

What it Will Take for Boards to Lead in the Next Decade?

As the world of corporate governance continues to evolve, where will the pendulum land in the next decade? We’ll bring together seasoned advisers to tackle the greatest governance challenges facing today’s public company boards – from new financial reporting requirements and ESG disclosures to proxy advisor changes, evolving regulatory considerations and new risks on the horizon. Get the insights you need to cut through the complexities and provide stronger oversight in the years ahead.

4:15 pm Eastern (1:15 pm Pacific)

Event Concludes